Never Say Never

NSN

“When Miriam’s fireman husband, Chauncey, dies while rescuing students from a school fire…”

So..from the jump, we know that Chauncey dies…so WHY OH WHY was I crying when Miriam found out?! Oh my goodness. I’m an emotional creature ANYWAY…I don’t watch Lifetime because I REFUSE to cry in front of the TV…but some how VCM manages to evoke emotion from me in such a way that I was a wreck reading when Miriam got the news and then when she had to tell her children. I cannot imagine…but I sure felt it.

The friends, Miriam, Emily and MichelleLee have a bond out of this world. They have been best friends since their college days…shared a lot and have really been there for each other. Naturally, they would be there for each other in this tragedy. Emily is upset with herself as she hasn’t really been able to be “there” for Miriam nor for her husband, Jamal (who was Chauncey’s best friend) like she wanted to be. She’s a child psychologist..and this fire was at a school so since she’s one of the best, they’ve been calling her in and she has just been doing what she does. Unfortunately, the grief counselor in her, thought she knew about her husband’s grief, but despite Pastor Ford’s warnings…she wasn’t taking care of him through his grief.

I didn’t want to stop reading. I picked it up and read the first chapter and had to put it down because of family obligations. When I picked it up again though…I never put it down. I was glued to it. By the end of the story, you know Chauncey well even though you don’t officially meet him. I can’t say much more about the story without giving it away…

There’s another story going on here too. A little girl named LaTanya…wow…watch out for that. All I can say for sure is to get your tissues ready…get you something to throw…get in a quiet room…otherwise..be ready for folks to ask why you’re misty eyed…or why you’re yelling or…”why did you hit me?!”…

Five Stars

About kimyatta

I am the mother of a teenager...'nuff said. I love to read, write, sing and listen to music. I am a contributing author to The Motherhood Diaries and The Motherhood Diaries 2 by Reshonda Tate Billingsley with 21 other fabulous authors. I'm also a teacher...a lover of God and a renewed spirit. I've got my Freedom Papers!
This entry was posted in Book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Never Say Never

  1. Pingback: Best of 2013 | missreaditall

  2. Pingback: Stand Your Ground – Victoria Christopher Murray | missreaditall

Leave a comment